In certain states, for example California, when one owns a judgment resulting from an automobile accident; one will often apply with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), to get their judgment debtor’s driver’s license suspended, until they satisfy their judgment.
This information is my opinion, and not legal advice. I’m a judgment broker, and am not just a lawyer. In the event that you ever need any legal advice or a strategy to make use of, please contact a lawyer.
A judgment debtor’s drivers license suspension can just only be attempted if the cause of action for the judgment involved an automobile accident, when the damages are above a particular amount. In California, the laws state that a driver’s license for the registered vehicle owner, and the driver, could be suspended for approximately six years; or before the judgment is satisfied.
In California, you would utilize the DL-30 form. Other states have different form names and procedures. IRISH FAKE ID As a judgment owner, you fill out the proper execution yourself. To obtain their driver’s license back, the judgment debtor should settle or satisfy the judgment. Be sure to provide the proper address for the judgment debtor, to insure they’ll get notified. That DMV notification of your DL-30 request, might get your debtor to stay with you.
You will get the DL-30 from the DMV’s website. Complete the proper execution, and bring it to your court, and pay them about $37.50. The court signs the DL-30 form, and attaches a certified copy of the judgment; and then stamps the DL-30 form. Afterward you mail that off to the DMV, the address is on the DL-30 form; along with another $20 check to them. If you should be attempting to suspend the driver’s license of the registered owner of the vehicle, and see your face is different from the driver; you will also have to submit proof of vehicle ownership (registration printout) to the DMV.
In the states which allow this sort of judgment recovery attempt, each has their very own laws. In California, the DL-30 form must be used within 3 years of getting the vehicle-related judgment, or within 3 years of the judgment’s renewal. Here are five possible glitches, when asking the motor vehicle department to suspend your judgment debtor’s drivers license, for unsatisfied an automobile accident-related judgment:
1) Some judgment debtors do not value their driver’s license getting revoked, and some keep on driving against what the law states; others let someone else drive them around. And, since this tactic does not directly force the debtor to cover you, this may be one of those items that sounds better the theory is that, compared to results it brings. One judgment recovery rule is, do not do what to interfere with your debtor earning money, at least until you are repaid. Only the judgment debtor’s available assets may be levied to satisfy your judgment.
2) Some courts are sympathetic if the debtor files a criticism with the court, claiming they have to drive for his or her job, or to take their mother to a healthcare facility, etc.
3) Most motor vehicle departments have a low priority for doing this. It can take 6 months for the DMV to suspend the driver’s license of your debtor after your DL-30 form is delivered to them.
4) You will need to ask the court how to fill out the form. Even although DL-30 form says the court is supposed to fill the majority of the form out, most courts cause you to do that yourself, with the exception of the little section for the court’s authorizing signature and date stamp.
5) If your judgment debtor files for bankruptcy protection, you cannot start any new actions to suspend their driver’s license, without first getting written permission from the bankruptcy court. When you yourself have already had the debtor’s driver’s license suspended, before their bankruptcy filing; the debtor, upon a fruitful bankruptcy; has a right to get their license re-instated. The debtor must provide a certified copy of the bankruptcy discharge order to the DMV, to get their license suspension lifted.